Under the direction of the Secretary and two Assistant Secretaries, the Ministry is divided into two operating wings: Policy and Research, and Co-ordination; there are also two service branches: Communications and Administration. These units contribute interdependently to fulfil the three main functions of the Ministry: policy development, co-ordination and research.

Ministry of Transport. The role and structure of the former Department of Transport were changed and a Ministry was created February 17, 1970. The new Ministry is a corporate structure of Crown corporations and operating administrations with varying degrees of autonomy, together with separate agencies for development and economic regulation. A Ministry headquarters staff supports the Minister and Deputy Minister in the functions of planning, policy formulation and assessment of program achievements in terms

of the objectives of the Ministry.

The Canadian Marine Transportation Administration co-ordinates the functions of the St. Lawrence Seaway Authority, the National Harbours Board and the Marine Services components of the former Department of Transport. Its operations include management of the St. Lawrence Seaway through the St. Lawrence Seaway Authority and direct supervision of ten harbours and other facilities through the National Harbours Board; 300 public harbours and 11 others are administered by commissions under the supervision of the Ministry. It is also responsible for aids to navigation, search and rescue, nautical and pilotage services, marine agencies, steamship inspection and the Canadian Coast Guard.

The Canadian Air Transportation Administration controls and operates Canada's airways and federal airports and provides technical supervision in Canadian airspace of all aeronautical activities in the flight safety sense. These activities are conducted through the branches of Civil Aeronautics, Telecommunications and Electronics, Airports and Field Operations, Air Traffic Control, and Construction Engineering and Architectural, and the support branches of Corporate Planning, Finance and Personnel. The Canadian Air Transportation Administration also provides telecommunications and flight services to other

components of the Ministry.

The Canadian Surface Transportation Administration has planning, programming and co-ordinating responsibilities relating to federal participation in the development and, where appropriate, operation of railway and highway systems, ferry services and bridges. The Administration has an ongoing interest in emerging technology in the area of new modes of surface transportation and their potential for application

in new operating systems.

The recently organized Arctic Transportation Agency is responsible for developing and administering policy related to Ministry-supported transportation facilities and services in the Canadian North, in furtherance of the government's national objectives there. Intermodal relationships between air, surface and marine transportation systems are a particular concern, as well as the compatibility of these systems with economic and technological growth in the North and with the needs of the residents. In this connection there is a special relationship between the Agency and the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development.

The Transportation Development Agency is responsible for initiating, promoting and co-ordinating transportation research and development activities, working closely with government agencies, industry and the academic community to provide a national focus for changing technology and development

opportunities in the field of transportation.

The Ministry also includes Air Canada, Canadian National Railways, and Northern Transportation Company Limited. These three Crown corporations are autonomous, maintaining close consultation with the Minister to be consistent with the government's general policies in the field of transportation. The Minister of Transport also reports to Parliament for the Canadian Transport Commission, the National Harbours Board and the St. Lawrence Seaway Authority.

Municipal Development and Loan Board. Established by the Municipal Development and Loan Act (SC 1963, c.13) to handle the financial administration of federal loans to municipalities for capital works programs, this Board is still legally in existence, but is no longer operative.

National Advisory Council on Fitness and Amateur Sport. The Council was set up under the Fitness and Amateur Sport Act (RSC 1970, c.F-25) to consider problems connected with the objectives of the Fitness and Amateur Sport Program. The Program was inaugurated in 1961 to increase the number of participants at all levels of competitive and non-competitive physical recreation and amateur sport activity ranging from day camps to the Canada and Olympic Games. The Council, consisting of not more than 30 members appointed by the Governor in Council with at least one from each province, advises the Minister of National Health and Welfare,

National Arts Centre Corporation. The Act establishing this Corporation (RSC 1970, c.N-2) was assented to July 15, 1966. The Corporation consists of a board of trustees composed of a chairman, a vice-chairman, the mayors of Ottawa and Hull, the Director of the Canada Council, the President of the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, the Government Film Commissioner and nine other members appointed by the Governor in Council for terms not exceeding three years, except for the first appointees whose terms range from two to four years. The objects of the Corporation are to operate and maintain the National Arts Centre, to develop the performing arts in the National Capital Region and to assist the Canada Council in